Fishing to Cook

Let’s face it.  Fishing in World of Warcraft is horribly boring for some people.  Then for weirdos like me, it’s very relaxing.  In game, every class has a go to buff food.  Usually its +int, +str +agi or +stam…surprisingly enough, the same buffs that are available from the fish feasts.  Before feasts, everyone had to provide their own buff food which meant either farming and cooking it yourself, or, buying it off the auction house.  Currently at end game, most raids bring fish feasts, so that their raiders don’t have to remember to get their own food.  Still though, someone has to either purchase or farm up the mats for the feast.

This is where many busy raiders usually decide that it is easier to just eat the fish feast, or buy food from the auction house.  Those guys, they are suckers.  SUCKERS I tell you. Why?  Fishing and cooking are very easy to level up from scratch.  Not only that, but, usually there’s one fish that is a major pain in the ass to fish up (I’m looking at you lavascale catfish) but really isn’t that hard…and it will sell for amazing prices.  So while you’re out helping out the guild (or yourself) with some feast mats, you could potentially spend a little more time and profit off it.

El’s Anglin has a wonderful guide to get started with leveling fishing and cooking together here.  She’s also got some more great information about fishing for profit, fun, and achievements as well, be sure and check it out.

Now, you’ll need to be able to cook that fish, so you should also level cooking.  People will pay good money for individual food buff food that is cooked as well.  It’s true that fishing and cooking aren’t the *best* money makers in the game, however, it’s the cheapest way to pick up your own food.  Besides, where else can you cook some food that attracts an army of penguins?

Penguin Army

 
Surely the opportunity to have your own army of noncombat pets follow you around is enough of a reason!  What are your reasons for or against fishing and cooking?

2 Comments on “Fishing to Cook”

  1. clumsygrrrl says:

    I LOVE you. Fishing is fantastic fun — I’ve got it maxed on two toons now! I host fishing parties with my guild and attempt to lure (AHA PUN) my friends into my obsession. “Fishing Outfits” was one such propaganda scheme. We all made the weirdest fishing outfits possible and sat around fishing and talking in Vent for hours.
    :D

  2. Elunamakata says:

    I enjoy it, it’s relaxing for me! I’m also currently doing the northrend, outland and stormwind fishing and cooking daily’s almost every day (hey I didn’t log in yesterday >.> I was….you know…taming hell!) to work on acheivements. Normally though, I would just spend an hour or five on a quiet day and listen to music or watch netflix and farm up feast and buff food for my husband and I and the raid team.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers