Remember when…?

Eluna found one of those “20 posts in 20 days” things with some questions that we should answer.  We both decided that might be a bit…much.  With 2 of us, that would be 40 posts in 20 days – all about random stuff.  So, probably not going to see us do that whole series.

But…

There were a couple of good questions – and one that I wanted to answer, in particular.  Mostly because I think my story is fairly unique in the WoW universe.

Your first day playing WoW…

Oh to be so innocent and new…

I picked up the WoW Battlechest at Target in Pasadena CA (yes, I actually remember where I bought WoW).  At the time, it was Vanilla and Burning Crusade.  I’m pretty sure it was April of… 2008?  I think? (Yes, it was, I just checked my Account Management page.)  This was after a few days of talking to my friend, John, who lived in Texas.  He had a local friend that was encouraging him to try it, so I decided I’d try too.  I’d heard of WoW before, and knew very little.  But was leary of it, in general, because I’m not a fan of violence.  At all.  Not in movies, not on TV, not in books.  Nowhere.  Don’t like blood and guts and gore.  And, come on, the game is called World of Warcraft.  I’m not dumb – I knew there would be stuff I didn’t like about it.

I had no idea there would be so much I do like.  I’d thought about it ahead of time, actually researched classes and races.  I knew that I would be making a female dwarf priest.  Now, you have to realize, I had no clue what I was doing.  I had no idea how hard it would be to level a healer.  Or that no one ever rolled female dwarves.  How should I know?  So I blithely (and ignorantly) rolled my first character: Braelyan of Bloodhoof (she’s moved servers since then, obviously).

I sat there reading my Brady Guide (the one that comes in the battlechest) trying to learn how to pick up quests and actually fight things.  The first couple of kills were hard because I hadn’t figured out how to use spells or the action bar yet (told you, I was a n00b).  Yes, I was bonking those troggs with my mace.  I didn’t know what to do when my bags got full (didn’t realize I could sell stuff).  I was completely baffled when John whispered me:  how in the WORLD did he make his text pinky-purple??  All I had managed was white.

I stuck with her, my baby Brae.  She managed to level all the way to 70 about a month before Wrath came out.  So I got a taste of raiding then, with the guilds that I’d met along the way.  John doesn’t play WoW anymore, but I do.  And I absolutely love it.

Someday, remind me to tell y’all the story of how I found the Customer Service Forum.
And what that has to do with my wedding on 10/10/10.  ;)

2 Comments on “Remember when…?”

  1. Elunamakata says:

    The thing I remember most about my first day of wow was the frustration of trying to name my character. I already knew I wanted to play a blood elf….they were pretty!!! And hunter because my friends told me it was easy with a pet. I tried naming my character for WELL over an hour before the name Kcihc popped into my head….which is, of course, Chick—-backwards.

  2. Seenah says:

    I never played computer games or console games (<– has 2 left thumbs, I swear). My older son convinced my younger son to play. After watching my younger son play, especially fishing and riding his tiger, I had to play. So, in August 2006, Seenah (my darling little gnome mage) was born. I remember spending the first 2 hours just looking and marveling at the beautiful scenery. Then came the first quests, interrupted with many yells from me: "Hey, son! how do I do this? What do I do now? Help, I'm dead, do I have to make a new Seenah?" You get the idea.

    Now, almost 6 years and several 85s later, I still love my gnome mage and I still love fishing.

    But most of all, the best thing that ever came out of me playing this game are the friends I made and met along the way.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers